The Heart Chakra

Dear hearts, today we are moving up to the heart chakra on our journey through the chakras. The heart chakra is represented by the colour green and is the fourth chakra in the chakra system, located in the chest area. It is the bridge between the lower and upper chakras, the feminine and masculine, the physical and the spiritual. The symbol, or mandala, for this chakra is two joined triangles within a circle of 12 petals of the lotus, which signifies mastery, and the circle signifies wholeness, the feminine or the womb. The downward triangle signifies the energy from the earth coming down and the upward triangle signifies the energy from the earth coming up. It is also called Anahata in Sanskrit which means unstuck cord.

​Crystals for this chakra are rose quartz, jade and emeralds. The element for the heart chakra is air. It is the center for giving and receiving.

​If this chakra is blocked you may feel disconnected from yourself, lack compassion, experience problems in the lungs, blood circulation and blood pressure.

​If your heart is balanced you feel connected, vibrant, compassionate and are able to experience self-love.

​Journal prompts are:

How do I show myself love?

Do I feel worthy of love? If you do, why?

Are my relationships in balance?

What am I most grateful for?

Who can I show more love to?

​Spend about 5 minutes meditating on each question and 5 minutes writing without judgment or editing. Let it flow.

​This chakra needs to be open to allow the natural flow of energy.

If, your heart has been wounded it will close down. Gratitude is one way to open your heart again. There is so much we can be grateful for. Try and think of three things that you are grateful for before going to sleep at night. This simple technique has been scientifically proven to bring about positive results in your life. Once you start practicing this simple practice I am sure you will notice there is whole lot more to be grateful for than you thought.

​The heart is the seat of compassion and love.

​Today I am going to tell you about another very special practice I do called Heartfulness Meditation. It is a type of mindfulness meditation in which you relax your entire body by starting at your toes going all the way up to your head. When you are relaxed imagine golden light coming up from Mother Earth into your feet which are grounded on the floor, up your legs, thighs and pelvis until it reaches the spark of divine energy within your heart. Sit peacefully focusing your attention on the heart. When you have finished your meditation try and hold this peacefulness within you throughout your day.

​Another favourite meditation practice of mine is practicing a self-compassion meditation. You can do this anytime. It only takes a few minutes. Once you have quietened yourself by focusing on your breathing place your attention around your heart center, as you did for the Heartfulness Meditation, and say these words to yourself:

May I be safe from harm

May I be happy just as I am

May I be peaceful with whatever is happening.

May I be healthy and strong.

May I care for myself in this ever-changing world graciously, joyously.

​You can also do a loving kindness meditation using these same words just replace the word I with you. Like this:

May you be safe from harm

May you be happy just as you are

May you be peaceful with whatever is happening.

May you be healthy and strong.

May you care for yourself in this ever-changing world graciously, joyously.

​Do it for yourself first, then for someone you love, then for someone neutral and lastly for someone with whom you are having difficulties. You will be amazed by the positive way it makes you feel. It is believed to be beneficial to the person receiving the loving kindness as well.

​When our chakras are balanced we feel so much lighter and happier because after all happiness is an inside job.

​I think it is so important for mothers of young children to take care of themselves and this means not only on a physical level but also emotional, mental and spiritual. I know how busy you are and how little time you have for yourself but I promise you that even a few minutes of me-time a day will improve your well being.

​I created a sacred altar to honour the heart chakra by laying down an emerald green scarf and placing a green candle, a jade stone, a vase with some flowers and a small bowl to represent the elements. I placed a statue of Quan Yin, the Goddess of Compassion and love on my table.

​Once our hearts are open and balanced we will move up to the throat chakra which is the place that we express what is in our hearts.

​May your heart be open and be filled with compassion and love for your self and others.

​With love and light,

​From my heart to yours,



Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest